May 2022 Commencement recap

Tuesday, May 31, 2022

On Saturday, May 14, 77 PharmD and 3 PhD candidates were hooded at the West Virginia University School of Pharmacy's Commencement ceremony held in the WVU Canady Creative Arts Center. The keynote speaker was Dr. Charles Ponte, Professor of Clinical Pharmacy and Family Medicine. During his 42 years of service to WVU, Professor Ponte received the prestigious designation of "fellow" in all three major professional pharmacy organizations. During his speech, Dr. Ponte encouraged graduates to find a mantra and use it to keep the fires burning in their professional and personal lives. He added that it's important to express gratitude. 

"I particularly like a quote from Oprah Winfrey," said Ponte. "Be thankful for what you have; you'll end up having more. If you concentrate on what you don't have, you will never, ever have enough." 

Other speakers included Dr. William Petros, Dean of the School of Pharmacy and Dr. Clay Marsh, Chancellor and Executive Dean, West Virginia University Health Sciences.

Several graduates received awards during the ceremony. They are listed below.

American Pharmacists Association-Academy of Student Pharmacists Senior Recognition
Raven Powers

Dean's Volunteer Service Awards
Emery Smith
Sarah Snider

Dean's Outstanding Achievement Awards
Rachael Largent
Mary Catherine Platz
Raven Powers
Taylor Thompson
Ashley Van Camp

Wolters Kluwer Clinical Drug Information Award of Excellence in Clinical Communication
Taylor Talkington

James K. Lim Pharmacy Academic Achievement Award High academic achievement
Colby Acri
Joy Apopa
Ryan Archer
Logan Cox
Lindsay Hoke
Amy Lusk
Elizabeth Rightnour

Viatris Excellence in Pharmacy Award
Alyssa Wallace

Kappa Psi Grand Council Scholarship Key Award
Ryan Archer
Logan Cox
Taylor Thompson